top of page

Monthly makes: September 2021

I can't believe it's already the 7th of October, where did the last month go? Do you feel the same, that it seams like time is flying. Especially these last few weeks things have been going really fast. I think this also comes because we are moving the second week of October, so basically next week. We are getting closing on our house next week and will be moving a few days later. I can't wait to move in and make myself a lovely sewing corner. I don't think I will get much sewing done this coming month, but maybe I'll surprise myself. But let's not get ahead, in this blog I want to look back on my sewing in September. I told myself this year I want to focus on finishing old projects #wips and try not to start a lot of new projects, so let's see how this month went.

In September I started 7 new projects, and had 5.5 finishes, so actually my list of work in progresses grew. Hoping to do better next month, right now I have 36 projects on my wip-list. To be honest, 3 of the new projects are garments I will be making in October to add to my winter wardrobe, so hopefully they won't be on my list that long. The other things I started this month were testing out a lovely pincushion for a friend from my quilt gilde, I worked on 2 quilts for the MINI&MAXI challenge from the Dutch Modern quilt gilde and started an finished a bunting as a gift for a baby boy. It was a fun little project to make and to gift, a few years ago I also made a name bunting for his older brother, so of course I had to make one for him.

These last 3 moths the them of my quilt gilde was MINI & MAXI, I finished the mini-quilt and the top of my maxi-quilt. I'm planning on writing a little blogpost about each one. So keep an eye on the blog, the will come online in the next few weeks. I also finally finished my Awesome Ocean quilt from the pattern by Elizabeth Hartman and was able to gift it. I quilted it with an amazing blue metallic thread. I loved the little sparkle it added and the effect, but definitely didn't love sewing with it. It was quite a struggle. Not sure if I'm ever gonna work with metallic thread again, not sure if it's worth the struggle of the thread snapping so often. Or do you have some great tips to sew with metallic threads?

I also finished 3 patterns I got the honor of testing. For Shannon Fraser I finished her Etched Diamond pillow, such a fun little pillow with a lot of HST's. I also finished the blocks I was testing for Irene from Sugaridoo her new book, they are amazing, but unfortunately I can't show them yet. And last, but definitely not least, I also tested the cute pincushion pattern called "New directions", designed by Emmely from Infectious stitches. She also made the photo off the two pincushions. For the next month I already have one finish, 2 nights ago I finished my purple flower embroidery hoop. But more about that one in my blogpost about my October finishes.

Some projects I worked on, but didn't finish are my flamingo English paper piecing project and I also finished the top for my puff quilt. I am waiting for a bit colder weather, so I can snuggle up under it while hand-sewing all the ties to quilt it. I also had so much fin with writing and finishing a blogpost for my friend Maria from Threadwerk, about how to be creative with jersey scraps to make children's clothes.

For the next month I have some things in mind I want to focus on, but we will see how it goes. I want to add a few more rows to my flamingo, try to finish my maxi-quilt and maybe get some quick finished with some projects that are so close to being done. One of them being my 100 hexies in 100 days quilt, it only needs a few more rows of big-stitching and it is done, so I just need to put that on top of my stack.

But first things first, moving. I would love to read what you finished or worked on in September.


Love, Sanne

image_6487327 (1).JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome on my blog, my name is Sanne. I love to sew, quilt, embroider and just be creative. Thank you for reading along on my journey. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page