top of page

Monthly makes: January-April 2022

I've been putting of writing this blogpost for a very long time. Originally it was supposed to be a blogpost about everything I have been sewing in January. That changed into Jan-Feb, into the first quarter of the year and so on. But today I just decided I missed writing and documenting my projects and decided to start writing. It doesn't matter it's the middle of the month, that maybe a 5 month period is strange to blog about, all that matters to me is that I picked up writing again.

Edit: while I was writing I decided to chop up the blog into two post, one for the first three months and a second one for May, the month I finally got some of my #sewjo back again and did a lot more quilting and sewing then I originally thought. Like the blue star quilt you can see above.

So what have I been doing these last 5 months when I wasn't blogging. I have been doing some sewing, but did not really finish anything. Just worked on some bits an bobs, half started some new projects, made lots of plans....

Basically, life happend as they say. My back acted up again, I've been really busy with my business and my volunteer work as a board member of the Dutch MQG. I'm an online Dutch language teacher to expat kids and there is a lot going on behind the scenes that didn't leave me a lot of time to spend being creative.

In January I joined two different projects that would last the whole year of 2022. One of them is the stitch a long hosted by Vika. During 52 weeks we will be stitching one row each week to end up with these amazing mountains. The other yearlong project I started is a quilt BOM. BOM stands for block of the month, its the Toes in the Sand, a pattern by Jaybirds using Tula Pink fabrics. It's hosted and organized by one of my favorite quilt shops Nanno Creative. Also, I planned to join the Cut it up QAL, the improv Koi Fish QAL and other projects, but just didn't find the time.


During the first months of the year we did finish the last round of the Round Robin with my group of the Dutch MQG. The theme was connecting, and I went with water and started out with an adaption to a traditional snail block to create the effect of a wave. I love the blocks the other members made for my quilt. The top is finished, but now to finish up the quilt. I'm probably gonna send it to another member of my guild, to have it quilted on a longarm.

Other projects I worked on these 5 months where some English paper piecing blocks, some blocks for the Santa's helpers block of the month and some other old projects. Like I said before, I didn't really have any finishes, but that's ok.

The next blog will be about the things I worked on in the month of May, I picked up my sewing and quilting a lot more that month. I just decided that I needed to fit more time in my schedule doing the thins I love. How do you make time in your schedule to spend on your hobbies? Please let me know!


Love, Sanne






image_6487327 (1).JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome on my blog, my name is Sanne. I love to sew, quilt, embroider and just be creative. Thank you for reading along on my journey. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page