top of page

What I've learned in '23 about quilting

A few weeks back when I was in Houston for Quiltmarkt & Quiltfestival I realised I really missed writing blogs for my site. And so I made a little blogpost about getting back into blogging. For my first "real"blogpost after a long hiatus I wanted to reflect on all the quilting and sewing I've been doing in 2023 and my "lessons learned".


Welcome sign at International quiltmarket Houston 2023

In 2023 I made it my main goal to try and really get my stack of WIP's (work in progresses) under control. I've been tracking my projects for a while and realised the massive amount of projects in different stages were not really brining me joy anymore. There were so much and I didn't knew where to start, so most of the time I would just start something new instead of finishing an old project. Or I would start a little something to get my "Sewjo back, but in the end most of the time also didn't finishing that one either. To be honoust, I think this is not only a problem for 2023, but something I started realising in 2022 already.


Freemotion quilting FMQ on a Bernina Q16

At the beginning of 2023 I Joined something called WipGO, its a type of bingo, but instead of numbers, you put goals on the board. This could be a WIP, or a part of a project. I started this as a way to get a grip on my projects. I made the deal with myself, that I should either finish it, or give it away/donate or take apart and give up. It's ok to fall out of love with a pattern, a fabric or a project. Sometimes it's ok to just stop with something. I've learned from a project, sometimes a technique, or a new way of working. And sometimes just also that I don't like something.


Needle turning applique using kimono silk thread 100wt

For me the biggest things I have learned in 2023 where:

- I don't really like making the same kind of block over and over

- I prefer to make samplers, or smaller projects

- Repeating a block is not a problem with English paperpiecing apperantly

- I am starting to like needle turn applique (who would have thought)

- Having a WIP-list of over 10 doesn't work for me

- I need a way to organise my projects so I can get to them easily

- If I'm not able to reach a project easily I forgot about them

- Often projects are lying around because I need one of two things to finish, so

- Keeping my supplies organised will help me

- It's ok to cut into new fabrics, insted of just looking at them

- I have way more fabric then I think, especially in coupons and bigger pieces


Quilt block from the Sweater weather sampler 2023

So going forward I really want to spend some time during the winterbreak and sort out my sewingroom (don't we all wish we had more time to spend there) and have a look at what really makes me happy to work on and prioritize working on those.


And also gather my favourite fabrics and start cutting them up and using them. What are the things you learned or realized with your crafts? Let me know, I'm always keen to hear from other crafters!


Sanne


image_6487327 (1).JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome on my blog, my name is Sanne. I love to sew, quilt, embroider and just be creative. Thank you for reading along on my journey. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page