top of page

Plans for 2022

Like most people, december is a month to look back at the year and start with making plans for the coming year. For me this meant looking back at my blog, my work-in-progresses and to "analyse" the things that made me happy in crafting and the things that didn't make me happy. I also wanted to look at what was working for my blog and what wasn't. Because I obviously started this blog for a reason, so did I do what I set out to do?

The first thing that comes to mind when I think back at starting my blog is how much I love to write. Just putting my thought to "paper" fills my heart with joy and I don't mind if I get a few readers or a lot. But I've been pretty inconsistent with my posts and I want to make a change for 2022. I've made a spread in my bullet journal and have mapped out what I want to blog about during the month. This will help me get a good idea of posts I want to write each month, like my "Monthly makes" for example September and November. And to also plan ahead, what projects will I be working on, can I write something non themed, and so on. If you have any plans or ideas about how to plan your blog please let me know in the comments.

I also just realized that I think in both Dutch and English, so my bullet journal is bilingual, haha. Thinking about my quilting and sewing I didn't have as much time as I might have wanted, or maybe that's just in my head, because I actually did get a lot done. When I started this blog I had 36 work in progresses, or WIP's, on my list and at the end of 2021 I managed to get the list down to XX. I also started 13 projects during the second half of 2021, so I'm very pleased with this result. My goal for 2022 is to get this list down a lot further, actually I'm secretly hoping to get it down to under 5. This will be so much more manageable for me, not only in my mind, but also in taking up the space in my sewing room. Talking about my sewing room, I'm so happy with my room that also functions as my office. I've spend a lot of time finetuning the furniture, sorting out where all the stuff goes, and you know quilters, they do have a lot of stuff.

To reach my goal of getting a lot of WIP's done, this year I want to try planning what I want to work on per 3 months, so not for each month. I think this will be easier and will also make it easier being flexibel. I also want to be strict with myself and not start new projects during the year. This will be very hard, and before even starting, I've already given myself some ways out. Projects for the Dutch Modern quilt gilde, do not count, so our swaps, or when I'm making something for a get together that is of course allowed. For the first quarter of 2022 I'm planning on finishing the following projects:

As you can see on the picture, I'm starting a big new project, the Toes in the Sand block of the month (BOM), and it is hosted by one of my favorite quiltshops in Holland, Nanno Creative. Each month we will be send the fabrics for that month, and I'm hoping getting a little package each month will help to keep me on track for this BOM.

Finally I also kind of have this idea to do something like a #100daysof something quilt related in the first half of 2022, but not really sure about it yet, so stay tuned! And lastly I just want to spend a lot of moments quilting, sewing and just overal crafting, because that's one of my favorite things to do. In my local quilt bee, with the Dutch MQG in our bimonthly zoom bee's or just by myself.

Do you have any plans for the coming year? I would love to hear about those, so please let me know!

Wishing you a creative and fun filled 2022!


Sanne


image_6487327 (1).JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome on my blog, my name is Sanne. I love to sew, quilt, embroider and just be creative. Thank you for reading along on my journey. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page