top of page

My #100hexies100days wall-hanging

I'm so happy it is finally finished, after many hours of cutting, applique and hand stitching it's here!

In the spring of 2021 I joined thus amazing quilt-a-long, or should I say hexie-a-long. Hosted by Maranelle of Sewfoxymama the goal was to make 1 English paper piecing hexie each day in a certain theme. I choose to do 1" hexagons, or hexies. Over the years joined several quilt-a-longs but I have a hard time finishing then on time (I am sure I'm not the only one). So this time I wanted to make sure I had a plan in place and I wouldn't end up with a drawer full of cute hexagons. I decided on making a rainbow wall-hanging and I designed it by tracing 100 hexagons on A4 pieces of paper and colored them in with markers to create the rainbow.

Each week there was a theme and I did my best to find a fitting fabric or even try to fussycut a piece of fabric fitting the theme of the week. Sometimes this was quite the struggle. I soon realized I was actually missing yellow and purple in my stash to fill out the rainbow, but two of the members of my quilt gilde were so kind to send me some amazing scraps I could use.

I really didn't have any fairytale themed fabric , so I went for fabrics that reminded me of a fairytale land.

I think the animal themed week was my favorite theme of them all. So many fabrics to choose from, the hardest thing for me that week was to choose fabrics that would fit well in my rainbow design.

So during those 100 days I made 100 hexies and kept on sticking them on the design I drew. After those 100 days it was time to transfer all those hexagons to my background fabric. I decided to use Kona snow to make all the hexagons really pop. I handstitched each on the background using a matching color thread and appliqued them on the fabric. At first I really had the plan to make it all perfectly straight and evenly spaced out, but I soon realized this wasn't happening. So I decided to go for playful and wonky.

After all the 100 hexagons were sewn on to the background fabric it was time to make the sandwich with batting and a backing. Of course I had to use Tula Pink's rainbow-colored hexagons for the backing. Then it was time to decide on a way to quilt this little wall-hanging. The applique took a long time so I was really debating if I also wanted to hand quilt it, but I decided it would really was the best way to finish it. So I go to it, I used multi colored Guterman thread to big-stitch the quilt changing the thread color often to make it match to the color of the rainbow. It came together a lot quicker than I thought beforehand and I was really pleased with the outcome. I used washi tape as a guideline to make sure my stitches where as straight as possible.

The final step in making a quilt is always the binding and from the beginning of this project I knew I wanted to use the rainbow stripes from Create, a rainbow colored fabric line designed by Kristy Lea of Quiet play. It was just the perfect finish to the rainbow wall-hanging. As always I finished the binding by handstitching the back onto the quilt. I added a little sleeve on the back so I can put a little hanger through it and the final step will be to hang it in my new sewing room/office.

I hope you will love it as much as I do, please let me know in the comments what you think of it.


Sanne


image_6487327 (1).JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome on my blog, my name is Sanne. I love to sew, quilt, embroider and just be creative. Thank you for reading along on my journey. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page